The keg tagging policy one lawmaker calls "a failed experiment" will be no more in Michigan.
On Tuesday, Gov. Rick Snyder signed legislation to repeal a law passed in 2010 to put additional restrictions on keg sales in an attempt to curb excessive and underage drinking, particularly among college students.
Under that law, which took effect in 2011, any keg buyer had to sign a receipt that listed their name, address and phone number and show identification upon purchase. The law also imposed a $30 keg deposit -- which couldn't be claimed upon return unless the keg tag remained intact -- and made removing a keg tag a misdemeanor punishable by up to 93 days in jail and up to a $500 fine.
Snyder's signature comes after both the House and Senate voted unanimously to move the legislation forward.
Sen. Goeff Hansen, R-Hart, is the bill's sponsor. He said retailers throughout the state had had issues with the legislation from the beginning, and said the legislation required a lot of extra effort for little to no benefit.
For the full article, see Lauren Gibbens, "Michigan's beer keg tag law repealed after keg sales tank", MLive, November 14, 2017.